I am no longer unemployed! Sort of.

A great friend of mine in college once crashed into my dorm room and started yelling my name. He said, “Eileen, Eileen, get up!” I kept shouting back, “UURUUUMPF”, or something like that.

When I finally started to get a grip on conscious reality, I started smiling and poking fun at this unabashed intrusion. I told him, “OK, alright, I’m up, I’m uuuup. I’m a queen, here I am, I’m going to change the world! Bring it on!” I raised my fist in the air triumphantly.

He said, “Eileen, if you’re going to change the world, you have to get out of bed first.”

Well. Really now.

My biggest most awful flaw is that I am so. Tragically. Lazy. Exactly half of me wants to change the world and fix all it’s problems and solve hunger and meet everyone alive and love until it hurts.

The exact other half of me wants a big fat, free paycheck to cover me for a life of curling up in bed forever in hazy contentment.

Spanish Rainbow by CrookedFlight

It is a constant struggle that I always wonder about, because if things were handed to me, which would I choose? Would I stay in bed or get up?

So recently, ish, I did land a job. I am now a content writer at the downtown company. I truly enjoy the work, which is a great start. It has been far from easy, but I try to consistently create content that’s interesting and thoughtful. Time constraints don’t allow for this, well, almost ever, but I still try. I’ve hit the six month mark, which is a big deal for me. Who knows where this will go, where this will lead me. Although the position itself has been challenging, it’s good to sit still for two seconds and think. More on all this later.

Next time I won’t wait six months to try to squeeze in everything that’s going on.

Job Hunt Tip #6: If the dream job ends up being a nightmare, try to give it a chance. Hard work usually pays off, especially in writing. If perfect positions grew from trees, a lot more people would be happy. So, if you’ve become employed and aren’t completely thrilled, wait a while if it’s tolerable and see where the wind takes you.

About CrookedFlight

Eileen Cotter Wright is an American expat living in London, UK. She is a freelance writer and owner of group travel site PureWander.com. Despite losing her passport the first day she left her home country, she's continued to roam the earth with gusto for about a decade. Besides bolgging, she freelances for a variety of outlets, including Buzzfeed, matador Network and BootsnAll. You can keep up with her hot mess adventures on Twitter @Crooked_Flight and on her personal blog CrookedFlight. View all posts by CrookedFlight

Leave a Reply

