The worst is over, now we wait.

After driving past the exit not once, but twice, and then paying forty stupid dollars for parking downtown, I survived the day of interviews.

How did they go?

The first was brilliant. I think. I love offices in re areas. This one used to be a big mill, with it’s original wooden floors contrasting against clean, white partitions. The guys who talked with me were great, super down to earth and seemed to really enjoy their job.

There’s nothing worse than an interviewer who says, “Sigh, well this is a pretty good place to work, I guess.” Sure, I can’t be wicked picky at this point, but things like that make me want to just not bother either and cut my losses.

I digress. The questions were easy and we flowed well. I just can’t tell yet if I’m qualified enough. Everything seemed fantastic but I always fear some top shot is going to flounce in after me and declare years of experience, thus sweeping up my dream spot.

The second place was in the city, also a gorgeous setting. But this threw me through a loop, even though should have seen it coming. The damn tests. These days, with such huge pools of applicants for positions, some jobs will just test you until you break. For this content writer job, before I even spoke to a live person, I was in a conference room taking a common knowledge test, an editing test and a current events test. AND, in my pare time next week I have to take another 90 minute test writing demo articles. Oof. I understand companies want the best of course, but you really need to have your game face on when walking into these situations.

I hear from the first one next week, so now I wait and sweat it out.

Aaaaand wait.

Job Hunt Tip #4: I like answering interview questions on the fly so it doesn’t sound too contrived. I think companies can smell a script a mile away. On the other hand, know what position you’re applying for inside and out. The interviewer will probably hint or mention any sort of test too, so make sure you brush up on whatever skills they require!

Music Motivation: Every Day by Girl Talk

About CrookedFlight

Eileen Cotter Wright is an American expat living in London, UK. She is a freelance writer and owner of group travel site PureWander.com. Despite losing her passport the first day she left her home country, she's continued to roam the earth with gusto for about a decade. Besides bolgging, she freelances for a variety of outlets, including Buzzfeed, matador Network and BootsnAll. You can keep up with her hot mess adventures on Twitter @Crooked_Flight and on her personal blog CrookedFlight. View all posts by CrookedFlight

Leave a Reply

