Interview-time. The suspense builds.

Interviews are a rush. I’m so wildly excitied to land one then I feel nausous right up to the very second I shake hands. After that though it usually goes well. We chat and shmooze and I answer questions and it’s over before I even know. Total Rockstar.

Wednesday I definitely have one interview, maybe two. The guaranteed one is for a bigwig company and a shiny Editor position I’m pretty curious and pumped about. I’ve learned a nasty and realistic lesson though. It’s really hard to not fall into fantasies of fat salaries and new work friends and your future, perhaps dashingly handsome boss giving you a flashy smile because you just found a way to save the company millions… well, you get it. I now see that an interview sometimes feels like you’ve won the job lottery, it still could mean very little. It could be you and 100 other candidates. Sadly even, the position could already be internally filled. You just never know.

Now dry those eyes. Come on, cheer up. For me, the one thing I can count on is even though I have no plans for five years from now, I know I won’t be where I am now. I maybe in a new job or living in a new place. Maybe I’ll chop off all my hair or finally take those salsa lessons. I know my car won’t last that long, so I’m sure I’ll be driving something different, or maybe I’ll be walking to work downtown.

Anyways, the point is things are going to change. If nothing else I know that I won’t let myself fall into a dull void. All those things I mentioned I can change myself, whenever I want.

Some, like my future dream job, are just going to take a second to get in gear. And when it does, I’ll love looking back on this time. I’ll think, maaaaan, remember when I was living paycheck to paycheck, zip tying my bumper back to my car after that jerk hit me? Remember when I those hideous shoes to work everyday because they were cheap and comfortable? But, remember how I still managed to travel a bit? I still got to see the ocean from my bedroom every morning at sunrise?

There’s time. Plenty of time.

But right now, I need to find those pumps that scream I’m your girl for this job.

Job Hunt Tip #3: What to wear?! Wear your best. No one’s going to think you’ve overdone it unless your ballgown train gets stuck in the elevator door. Then you may have to re-evaluate your choices. Otherwise, zip up that suit and own it. If and when your get hired, then you can drink in the company vibe and dress accordingly. I think this especially appeals to twenty-something on the job beat for the first time. Make sure your suit (guys or girls) fits well too so you look polished and mature. I’ve seen a kid swimming in this blazer and thought, wow, will they really hire this 12-year-old?

Music Motivation: Elephant Gun by Beruit

About CrookedFlight

Eileen Cotter Wright is an American expat living in London, UK. She is a freelance writer and owner of group travel site PureWander.com. Despite losing her passport the first day she left her home country, she's continued to roam the earth with gusto for about a decade. Besides bolgging, she freelances for a variety of outlets, including Buzzfeed, matador Network and BootsnAll. You can keep up with her hot mess adventures on Twitter @Crooked_Flight and on her personal blog CrookedFlight. View all posts by CrookedFlight

Leave a Reply

