I’m unemployed. Sortof.


Alright, well I do have a job. Hello, I’m Eileen. I am a hostess at a local sports bar. The crazies that grace my door every day never disappoint. There’s a drunk with the bags of candy for the bartenders, and the 60-year old Fara Fawcett look-alike. There’s the girl who’s afraid to make eye contact and comes in every week with a request for a booth, waiting with baited breath to see if one will grace her little butt with cushy bliss.

Then the old gents with the marriage proposals and the divas who walk in thier leopard print stilettos demanding to speak to management.

Mostly though, I’m outright ignored. Thanks for coming to the…oh um have a nice…take care now? Cricket cricket, door slam. It’s OK, I just get to read more.

In my other life, I blog. I blog for The Free George, a fun NY online ‘zine. I contribute blog posts about the ongoings of their neighbor city, Boston. Topics include the best restaurants to try, bands and music acts to see, nightlife to experience and more. Yadda yadda.

In my other-other-other life there’s more stuff. I travel, I sing horribly and I have a boyfriend. Even after living in Spain for nine months, I communicate in Spanish like a 12 year old. I like to ski, hate being cold, and will only eat strawberries covered in chocolate. I have a BA in Journalism/Mass Communications. I can see the ocean from my bedroom window. New restaurants make me go nuts with anticipation and I can’t help but see the good in everyone, which drives my paranoid friends insane.

I’ve been actively looking for a full time reporting, editing, copywriting, or general media job for nine months now. Everyday I scour the job boards, update my LinkedIn profile and sign up for networking events. Things are slower going than I though. It’s wicked rough out there.

I’m going to consolidate. This blog is easing me into the 21st century. I was devastated to leave my old blog of ten years. We had a great run, but I knew I had to peace out and break some hearts. Awful I know, but my blog and I both knew it was going nowhere fast. Here though is a fresh look and a start to greatness. A little baby step, but it’s going. We’ll see where this takes us.

So I don’t have a job. But I do have a job. But I don’t. Clear?

Everyday I freak out a little bit more at the tidal wave of info, advice and bad news that comes my way about starting a career in unpredictable 2011. Sure, I hope to be the next columnist for Vouge. Or National Geographic. Or The Globe. But, I guess all those people who write for a living had to start somewhere.

Me, I’m starting simply by saying welcome, how many people in your party?

Job Hunt Tip #1: Watch EVERYTHING you say in your Twtter, Facebook and social networking sites. Sure, you think it’s a hoot your best friend bitches about thier job every waking moment via Facebook status, but her employer is none too thrilled about it. Neither would a future employer be either. Jobs are tough enough, no one wants a Debbie Downer in the cube next to them for ten years.

-CrookedFlight!

Music Motivation: Rolling in the Deep Mix by Adele

About CrookedFlight

Eileen Cotter Wright is an American expat living in London, UK. She is a freelance writer and owner of group travel site PureWander.com. Despite losing her passport the first day she left her home country, she's continued to roam the earth with gusto for about a decade. Besides bolgging, she freelances for a variety of outlets, including Buzzfeed, matador Network and BootsnAll. You can keep up with her hot mess adventures on Twitter @Crooked_Flight and on her personal blog CrookedFlight. View all posts by CrookedFlight

Leave a Reply

